On 1 August 2019, the agreement delineating the boundary between the overlapping exclusive economic zones (EEZs) of the Philippines and Indonesia officially entered into force following the exchange by the two countries’ foreign ministers of the instruments of ratification in a special ceremony held in Bangkok.

The Agreement, which was first discussed in 1994, was formally signed by the two countries on 23 May 2014 in Manila. The procedures of ratification have now been completed.

According to a joint press release of the two governments,

This landmark accord concluded between the two biggest archipelagic states stands as a valuable example of the peaceful and rules-based settlement of maritime borders in accordance with 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea (UNCLOS). The Agreement provides legal certainty on the EEZ boundary between the two countries, promotes deeper cooperation in their respective maritime sectors and thus contributes to the prosperity and economic development of both countries and the larger region. 

Map depicting the agreed Exclusive Economic Zone boundary between the Philippines and Indonesia (source: Government of the Philippines).



Maritime Boundaries

Law of the Sea